June 22, 2017

Awards Given

   1999 The Seherr-Thoss Foundation for its enlightened and prominent role in local projects which have greatly enhanced Litchfield’s character.  Susan Magary accepted on behalf of the Foundation
   1999 Carol and Malcolm Bramley for their painstaking and meticulous restoration of the “Catlin House” at 125 Chestnut Hill Road.  “It is a wonderful example for residential preservation,” said Victoria Sansing.
   1999 Bruce Schnitzer, principal partner of The West Street Yard, for the rescue of the former Switzer Lumber Yard from neglect and deterioration
   2000 Priscilla and Norman Hillman, for their careful and sensitive preservation work on The Corner House, aka, The Butler House, and the Carriage House which they reunited as one property.
   2001 Perley Grimes, Dmitri (Tim) Ilyinski, and Victoria Sansing, as members of the Trust’s Board, for their “exceptional skills and energies provided to Project 2000, the subterranean relocation of utility wires on “Merchants’ Row.”
   2006 Jessica and Jason Travelstead for architectural improvements they have made to their home at 228 Meadow Street
   2009 Lisa and Ray Parker, for significant enhancement of the exterior of their home at 314 South Street
   2010 The Sidewalk Committee, the Litchfield Board of Selectmen, the Litchfield Public Works Department, and the firms of Martin Laviero Construction and Clover Construction for the restoration of the sidewalks along “Merchants’ Row”
   2011 George Malkemus and Anthony Yurgaitis, for the restoration of the old firehouse in Bantam and the adjacent property and their conversion to an ice cream bar (and, prospectively, a wine bar)
   2012 David and Deborah Beauregard, 272 South Street. For their architecturally appropriate addition to an historic home.
   2012 Perley H. Grimes, Jr. – The Greater Litchfield Preservation Trust in acknowledgment of the many years of your devotion to its goals and your uninterrupted service as a member of its Board of Trustees and Officers and your expertise as a wise counselor, legal consultant and inspiring leader during that time wishes to demonstrate the organization’s gratitude for the exceptional benefits it has received from you. This Award of Appreciation is bestowed by the current Board of Trustees and Officers but they are joined by former members who are equally grateful to you.